Stepping Away

April 6, 2011 at 11:28 pm 1 comment

So this past weekend I was able to step out from in front of the box

As I was packing my bags to head for a warmer climate, I wondered if I should take my laptop.  I struggled with this decision for a mind-blowing 24 hours.  What if I missed an important email from Penn State regarding my graduate school application?  What if I wanted to share some crazy experience with my friends on Facebook?  What if there was an emergency?  Will my cell phone work?  If not, how will anyone contact me?  What if there was a pop quiz on my online class?  Most importantly, what will I do on the airplane for hours at a time? 

Surprising even to me, I declined to take my computer and I am so glad I did.  I went for five whole days without a computer and internet access.  I even shut off my smartphone for fear that I would be charged some ridiculous price if my emails actually went though.  Believe it or not, I lived through it and learned a little about myself.  I don’t need technology to entertain myself or my children.  The airpline ride was full of reading books and playing “I Spy” with the kids.  It was amazing.  Throughout this entire semester my classmates and I have focused alot on our increasing dependence on technology.  I am very proud to say that over my five day break I didn’t miss it at all.  In fact, I kind of liked the freedom to not have to answer my phone or e-mails.   

Funny though, when I got home at 3 a.m. Tuesday morning, the first thing I did was check my email.  I guess old habits die hard.  😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Internet Access & Inequality Ideas, Ideas, Ideas

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. emiller27  |  April 7, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Amber, I just wanted to tell you how proud I am of you 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



