Finding My Way

January 30, 2011 at 7:00 pm 15 comments

Am I really that far out of the technology loop? I was more than concerned about blogging this week because I had NO idea what 2.0, Creative Commons licensing, or the GNU project even meant.  How could I possibly conceive of writing about something if i didn’t even know what it was?  When we talked about the assignment last Thursday, I glanced around the room at my classmates and everyone looked cool, calm, and collected.  Was I the only one that didn’t have a clue?  Needless to say after a little researching, I think i found some answers…

Web. 2.0 I have heard the term a million times but what does it mean?  The Internet is packed with conflicted, convoluted, and illusive answers.  On About.com’s Webtrends section I found a helpful description of Web 2.0.  “It is the process of putting us into the web…We aren’t just getting information dumped to us from a computer, but we are reaching out to connect with other people.”

Creative Commons Licensing “Our vision is nothing less than realizing the full potential of the Internet – universal access to research, education, full participation in culture, and driving a new era of development, growth, and productivity.”  My first thought, “What the heck does this mean?” So to make a long story short, I believe that Creative Commons Licensing is a way for businesses and individuals to copyright their work while still allowing it to be shared in certain ways as long as it is attributed to its source.  Creative Commons calls it a “some rights reserved approach to copyright.”  Groups such as Flickr, Nine Inch Nails, and Wikipedia all operate with Creative Commons licensing.  You can check out more groups that use Creative Commons by checking out their website.  On a side note, Creative Commons even has a blog.

Finally, GNU Project So the GNU Project advocates the use of free software.  OK, that is pretty self-explanaory.  But like many others, I had completely confused the term “free” with “gratis.”  Apparently, free does not refer to price but to “freedoms.”  The GNU project defines free as:

1.  Having the freedom to run the program as you wish, for any purpose  2. Having the freedom to modify the program  3.  Having the freedom to redistribute copies, gratis or for a fee  4.  Having the freedom to distrubute modified versions of the program.

Basically, I think that all of these terms deal with the ability to use the Internet as a sharing and learning device, whether this means sharing idea, programs, art, music, etc., but sharing them in a way that is respectful to their originator.

So now moving on to helpful software programs that operate under these ideas…

GIMP (what a name, right?) stands for GNU Image Manipulation Program (obviously ties in with the GNU project).  It can be used to enhance and retouch photographs and pictures.  It features a customizable interface and hardware support.  I haven’t downloaded it yet because I am torn as to whether I want to download it on my desktop (which is a PC) or my laptop (a Mac).  Also, I already have Photoshop installed on my desktop so I’m not sure that I would need it. I am impressed however, by all of the great reviews that I have read about the program online.  You can check out the adobe website for a free trial download of Photoshop.

Also, check out things that you might already have…

I don’t know how many of my classmates own a Mac, but there are so many programs on them to manipulate images, videos, and music (i.e. iPhoto, iMovie, GarageBand).  I think that if I explored my MacBook a little more, I would probably be shocked at its capabilities.  I have used iMovie with success quite a few times to make family videos.  I believe it comes free with every Mac (at least it did with mine).  Honestly, I haven’t done anything with the other programs that came with my computer but if they work as well as iMovie, then they will be very useful.  I am also wondering if it would be easy, difficult, or even plausible to use the video that I created on iMovie on my webpage made in Dreamweaver.  I’m still new to this whole Mac thing and am pretty naive to Mac/PC compatibility issues so perhaps someone can enlighten me…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Learning About Blogging Out with Greetings, In with Emoticons

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gr8rthangatsby  |  January 30, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Amber, thanks for sharing. I too was confused about the terms “Web 2.0” and “Creative Commons Licensing,” but your post was very informative. I think I’m ready to start working on my post now!

    Reply
    • 2. amberjayd  |  February 1, 2011 at 6:36 pm

      I was glad to see that I inspired you to get going. Did I mention how much I love the username, “gr8rthangatsby”?

      Reply
  • 3. exchethera  |  February 1, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Yeah, don’t worry: you’re not that far out of the loop lol.

    The only thing I’d heard of before was “Creative Commons Licensing,” and that’s only because I’m really into music. So I’d caught wind of it through various bands that are involved in it. Plus, I wrote a paper on the creative control in the music industry a couple semesters ago, so I did a good amount of research on CCL at that time.

    Other than that, I was equally clueless about GNU and GIMP and all of that.

    I enjoy reading your blog. Don’t worry about what you don’t know: just let your honesty and research speak for themselves 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. amberjayd  |  February 1, 2011 at 6:38 pm

      Thanks for the little boost of confidence Jake. OK, so I have to say it, your gravatar picture cracks me up every single time I see it! It really is perfect. I think it matches your “voice.”

      Reply
  • 5. emiller27  |  February 1, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    Amber, I was just as confused as you were! I still don’t completely understand GNU and everything else. I also have no idea what my MacBook is fully capable of doing. We should probably look into this 🙂 Anyway, your post was very informative! I’m glad I’m not the only one who was completely clueless!

    Reply
    • 6. amberjayd  |  February 1, 2011 at 6:39 pm

      So I’m thinking a night of macbooks and margaritas? Why do I associate everything with margaritas? 😉

      Reply
      • 7. emiller27  |  February 3, 2011 at 4:18 am

        You know I never turn down margaritas 😉

  • 8. Kristyn  |  February 1, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Yeah, I never heard of any of that! But you put a lot of good and helpful information on here! Also, to your comment on my last post, YES I would love for you to show me how to use one word instead of the entire website!!!

    Reply
  • 9. amberjayd  |  February 1, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    Hey Kristyn, Just highlight the word that you want to make a link. After highlighting the word, click on the insert link button. Put the web address into the white box and it will make the word go to the link. You may want to click on the little option that says something like “open in a new window,” because it will then keep your blog open while opening the site in another window. If you still need help, I will show you on Thursday. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. kassburr  |  February 1, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    Amber, Excellent post and very informative. I really didn’t understand the GNU project until I read it here on your post. Great breakdown and description of each of the new projects! Margaritas and Macbooks sounds like a great time lol

    Reply
    • 11. amberjayd  |  February 1, 2011 at 6:56 pm

      I’m feeling so much better now that I know that everyone else was pretty much clueless too. Seriously though, who doesn’t like margaritas and Macbooks? That is what I should have called my post this past week.

      Reply
  • 12. Lee Barber  |  February 1, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Nice post, Amber! You’ve given a broad overview of what open source programs are all about and what they offer.

    Reply
  • 13. avi5013  |  February 2, 2011 at 3:40 am

    Hey Amber, very informative post. I also didn’t know most of the things that you mentioned..but now I know after reading your blog!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with us!

    Reply
  • 14. mqm5176  |  February 2, 2011 at 4:28 am

    Great job at working through the definitions of these terms for the first time.

    Reply
  • 15. UseLessInk1234  |  February 3, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Amber, this post was very informative! I am glad you did a brief overview because it is easy to go really in-depth with this material.

    P.S.: Don’t worry we are all in this together! I still cannot get my gravatar to work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



