Coming Together

January 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm 9 comments

After a week of complete torment, I can finally consider my computer a friend again.  This semester, I am not only taking Writing for the Web, I am also taking an online course that requires me to learn a lot of new “tech” information.  Between avatars, gravatars, widgets, and podcasts, my brain is spinning.

Despite this, things are coming together.

In regards to blogging, I believe that I understand the basic concepts behind WordPress (though I have the feeling that I am just scratching the surface).  Setting up my blog has been fairly easy.  I gravitated toward a pre-made theme almost immediately and am fairly happy with my blog design.  I experimented with various “widgets” on my blog site, but am still fairly uncertain as to which ones will prove useful to me.  I also discovered how to insert links and pictures.    

I’m not sure I completely understand the concept behind post vs. page, though I am able to create a post and create a page successfully.  I also had a difficult time setting up my gravatar (globally recognized avatar) but I believe that I did this successfully too.  The only thing I am uncertain about is why my gravatar image is not showing up on my gravatar widget on my blog page (say that ten times fast).  The image that I wanted to use is of my Charlie so I’ll give you a little peek of his cuteness…

I’ll just end by saying that I am looking forward to continuing this journey and becoming more technologically literate.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Learning About Blogging

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emiller27  |  January 18, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Okay, so this is probably the cutest picture of Charlie! He looks so innocent! We pretty much have the best looking dogs 😉

    Reply
  • 2. UseLessInk1234  |  January 18, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Your theme’s color choice is lovely; very earthy. I really like the design aspect of this response section. Great first entry!

    To Charlie,

    Judi and I miss you very much.

    Reply
  • 3. emiller27  |  January 18, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Amber, I love your theme! As I was looking for my own theme, I thought of you when I saw this one. I guess that’s because I know you! It’s fun but professional at the same time. I also like that you used Charlie as your Gravatar.

    Reply
  • 4. avi5013  |  January 18, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    I like your blog theme (partly because I chose this theme for one of my blogs previously lol). Your dog is soo cute. Post more pictures of him

    Reply
  • 5. gr8rthangatsby  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    Nice work in setting up your blog! I really like your title. Also, thanks for including the link to the Gravatar page. I haven’t set up a gravatar yet, so it should be helpful to me. One difficulty I had with your page is that I had a little trouble finding the place where I could leave a reply for your first post. This might have just been because I’m new at WordPress though.

    Reply
  • 6. Kristyn's beginning...  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Your blog is cute! Your dog is a cutie, even though I am not a dog person at all! I had the same problem with the gravatar situation; glad I’m not the only one.

    Reply
  • 7. Lee Barber  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Amber–
    I like what you did with the layout. The colors compliment each other in a way that are easy to read and stylish. Your title is interesting. A lot of people spend their entire life in front of many boxes! It seems to be a thing of our generation. Anyway, good job!

    Reply
  • 8. scribblingscrabble  |  January 19, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    I love your theme. The layout is very creative and inviting. Your puppy is so cute!

    Reply
  • 9. mqm5176  |  February 1, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    For your first time doing anything of this sort, it seems you’ve put your WordPress blog together quite well. You should be fine moving ahead this semester.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



